Technical Services and ICT

The Department of Technical Services is headed by the Deputy Minister for Technical Services.
The office of the Deputy Minister for Technical Services assists the Minister in formulating policy on the ICT and the telecommunications sector. The office works with diverse stakeholders both in the public and private sector as well as with civil society actors in establishing shared national perspectives on cross-cutting policy issues. It is also responsible to coordinate with sector players such as the Liberian Telecommunications Authority and services providers regarding the implementation of national policy objectives. The role of the Ministry in the development of the sector as outlined in the National ICT & Telecommunications Policy, the National Telecommunications Acts and other related instruments that are geared towards facilitating the provision of services falls under the Office of the Deputy Minister.

It is responsible to set broad policies on the ICT and Telecommunications sector of Liberia. The Department helps to align national programs with regional, continental and global ICT agenda for implementation. For instance, Liberia's road-map to transpose and domesticate ECOWAS ICT Supplementary Acts which seek to ensure that ICT programs in member countries are harmonized as a regional initiative falls within the domain of the Department of Technical Services. Similarly, programs that seek to reduce digital divide through taking actions to connect villages as set up by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) in collaboration with the African Union under the theme "Connect Africa" and other such targets are some programs that the department help to customize as national agenda. Essentially, the Office of the Deputy Minister ensures that all ICT and Telecommunication programs adopted by the ITU and other such bodies of which Liberia is a member are domesticated to meet national objectives.

The office of the Deputy Minister for Technical Services executes its duties through the following departments;

Bureau of Telecommunications
Bureau of Universal Access and ICT
Program Management Office